Investment Committee

Investment Committee

Our Investment Committee will review and approve all of Grow Michigan’s applications for investments.  It is composed of independent, experienced investment and credit professionals.

  • Peter E. Mogk

    Peter E. Mogk

    Investment Committee Member

    Peter E. Mogk is a Senior Partner with Huron Capital Partners, an operationally-focus private equity firm which invests in well-run, niche companies in diversified sectors of the middle market. Prior to joining Huron, Mr. Mogk was Vice President and Treasurer of Penske Corporation, a privately-held investment group. Prior to Penske, he held senior management positions with Nesbitt Burns Securities, Inc., the investment banking division of the Bank of Montreal (Chicago), and The Northern Trust Company.

    Mr. Mogk has a bachelor’s degree in economics from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio and an M.B.A. from The University of Chicago with concentrations in finance and economics.


  • Kevin Nelson

    Kevin Nelson

    Investment Committee Member

    Kevin Nelson is the Chief Executive Officer of The Gemini Group, a privately held group of companies with holdings in the manufacturing, banking, entertainment, real estate and energy industries. Prior to joining Gemini, Mr. Nelson was a SVP Middle Marketing Lending for Comerica Bank and the Founder and SVP of GMAC Business Credit.

    Mr. Nelson received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Michigan State University.


  • Daniel Terpsma

    Daniel Terpsma


    Coming soon…

  • Thomas J. Bieke

    Thomas J. Bieke


    Thomas J. Bieke is Managing Director and Chief Credit Officer for The Private Bank in Chicago, a publicly-traded commercial bank with approximately $20 billion in assets which, in the first quarter of 2017, will be acquired by Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce. He has spent the last 35+ years in middle market commercial banking working for American National Bank & Trust Co. of Chicago, LaSalle Bank (a subsidiary of Netherlands-based ABN AMRO Bank) and Fifth Third Bank. While at Fifth Third, Tom formed and lead the new National Commercial Banking unit to establish a new presence for the Bank in five northeast and southeast markets.

    Tom received his Bachelor of Arts Degree (Economics) from Kalamazoo College in 1980 and his Master in Business Administration from the University of Chicago in 1991.

  • D. James Mack

    D. James Mack


    Jim Mack serves as Executive Vice President – Chief Lending Officer at Independent Bank. He oversees all aspects of Commercial Lending including loan origination, approval, credit administration and operations. Prior to joining Independent Bank in 2009, he had been with Comerica for 25 years, most recently serving as Senior Vice President – Credit Administration for the national divisions of Business

    Banking, Private Banking and SBA Lending. Mr. Mack received his Bachelors of Business Administration from Western Michigan University.